top of page

My Journey with MS

My diagnoses and path to spiritual peace

Blog Posts

Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Dowie

Life Update!

It has been quite awhile since I last posted on here. I understand and I am sorry. I have been holding off on writing a blog post because I have some exciting news that I was waiting for the right time to share. I think now is a good time to share.


I have accepted a position on the board for MS Moments! If you don't know who MS Moments is I would encourage you to go check out their website (msmomentsiowa.org). In a nutshell MS Moments mission is: " ... to provide financial assistance to individuals with MS (and their immediate family members) in Central Iowa to allow them to become members of a fitness organization to promote health, exercise, and mental and physical well-being "


I found out about MS Moments shortly after my diagnosis from my aunt who happened to know someone that was receiving grants from MS Moments. She heard they were a great organization and that I should look into what they offer. I took a mental note of that suggestion but my mind was so consumed with other thoughts at the time of the suggestion that I didn't really pursue it. I was then introduced to one of the founders of MS Moments on the morning on the Bike MS: Iowa ride in 2018. Somewhat uneventfully I met Karrie Anderson and quickly setup a lunch to truly meet and learn about MS Moments. A few weeks later we met for lunch and was instantly sucked into the amazing things this organization offered. As I was sitting there I told her this, "I want to get more involved with MS Moments as I continue to get my footing with the MS thing." I later told her that what I meant by that was not about how I could volunteer here and there for the events they did, I wanted to be apart of the organization. I didn't know their employee structure if you will so I didn't know being involved would mean being a board member but I wanted in from day 1. To be honest I have been sitting here hoping and waiting for her to ask me to be apart of it all and boy am I happy and blessed to have the opportunity!


Why MS Moments you ask? For years I have contemplated non profits and organizations that I could start to benefit others. I will list a few of them so you get an idea :). I wanted to start a clean water non profit with a couple buddies while I was in high school, it was going to be called 'Alive & Well' but instead of well it would be a picture of a well. I contemplated how I could create an air filtration system inside of things like bilboards that would take water out of the air, purify it, and have a spigot that would dispense the water to those who need it. Other ideas include, running an orphanage and soccer camps. I have wanted to start something for a very long time and being diagnosed with MS only added fuel to the fire. I wanted to do something to help others like me and I wanted to do it now. Luckily I have a wife that does a great job of pumping my brakes a bit and make sure I am doing things correctly. She has always encouraged me to get involved with an existing non profit to see how they run things and see where the needs are and how I fit into those needs.


Insert MS Moments. I have explained on this blog several times about how much I love exercise. How important movement and physical fitness is with everyone and more importantly people with MS. Physical well being is the main thing that MS Moments provides to the families they are helping. That shows up in different ways, such as gym memberships, yoga, acupuncture, medical massage, but it all focuses on the well being. Focuses on getting and keeping people moving. They not only help the person effected with MS but they help their immediate family and that is important. MS effects me physically but to say MS doesn't effect my wife and my kids would be crazy. MS Moments recognizes that and does what they can to help the rest of the family as well.


Another huge aspect of MS Moments that really resonated with me was the community aspect. You just have to spend 5 minutes talking to Karrie Anderson or one of the other board members and you will instantly understand what I am talking about. I haven't met someone in the MS space that Karrie doesn't know. I am serious! I have been looking into partaking in a completely unrelated biking event and I told Karrie about it thinking maybe she had never heard of the organization. Her response, "Oh yeah, I have met the guy who started that. I can give you his contact info if you want." They do a great job of making you feel apart of a family and community that cares about you, truly cares about you. They find you resources, they fight battles for you, the walk along side you in tough times and celebrate the triumphs. Above all of that, one of the things I love about MS Moments more than just about everything else is the way they approach life. MS sucks, it does. But life doesn't so why dwell on the circumstances? I can't go back and change my past so I no longer have MS, but I can control my future and make sure I am living life to the fullest! MS Moments lives this out and it has been fun getting to know everyone involved in the organization and seeing where I fit into everything.


With all of that being said, I am extremely exciting to be apart of such an amazing organization and surrounded with amazing people that will uplift, encourage, and push me to be a better man. I can't begin to count the ways MS Moments has and will impact my life. I don't know what all God has in-store for me but I hope I can take this new opportunity and help others have a similar experience with MS Moments and ultimately their MS diagnosis going forward. If you have any questions about MS Moments or how you can get involved, we need lots of volunteers, please reach out! I would love to share more about what we do for families all across Iowa!


Take heart John 16:33

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RAGBRAI Recap

I have been wanting to give a recap on my week at RAGBRAI and figured I might as well dust off the MS blog site and give it another guy. Looking back at my blog posts it has been a few days short of 2

It is Calm. What now?

I pulled up this blog site to start writing another blog and noticed that the last one that I posted was May. I have tried to avoid thinking about how long it has been since I have written a blog but

It's The Journey

I hope this blog post comes to everyone while they are healthy and happily fighting the darn pandemic. It has been crazy to see life as we know it come to a screeching halt. To be honest, it has been

bottom of page