top of page

My Journey with MS

My diagnoses and path to spiritual peace

Blog Posts

Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Dowie

Familiarity -> Complacency

Familiarity breeds complacency. I came across those words in a devotional I am ready with a group of other men. When I read those words I pondered on them for a few minutes and thought to myself, "that would be a good blog post to write about." So, a few days ago I sat down and started writing about how I am trying to not fall into complacency while my disease is in a seemingly inactive stage.


The problem is that as I started writing the post it occurred to me that I had already fallen into complacency and it was taking a toll. Not a large or noticeable toll but a toll nonetheless. After an absolutely crazy July where I could count the number of workouts I completed on one hand, I jumped back into the gym the last few weeks and it was tough! I am typically a morning person that has no problem rolling out of bed when my alarm goes off at 5am but recently it has been a little bit harder and my motivation a little bit less. For the first time since my diagnosis I have felt like the fatigue from MS was really impacting me. I felt like MS was throwing body punches and I wasn't fighting back!


The quote that I thought I was just going to write about and talk about in an encouraging way became words that turned into a couple days of self reflection. Getting onto the keyboard and actually typing out these words ended up being harder than I thought it was going to be. I am gong to be open and honest here. I have seen what MS can do to people. I have heard the countless people with loved ones who have MS talk about how horrible of a disease it is. Those thoughts and hearing those words are usually my motivation to keep pushing. To wake up when I don't want to wake up. To do another set of burpees when I really don't want to do another set of burpees. But I think, as I continued along my journey of MS that included no relapses and me getting into better shape than I have been in for quite some time I started to get familiar with my routine. Familiar with my battle with MS. I didn't truly understand that until I started writing this post.


Good news is that I have recognized my complacency and can make adjustments. I get into a routine of working out in the morning, going to work, coming home and spending time with my kids before bed, then watching tv until I decide I want to go to bed. Rinse and repeat. So the last few days have been about how I can change up my routine to keep things fresh. Looking back on when I was first diagnosed to see what I did to regain strength and coordination. Can I implement those back into my evening routine to keep those things sharp? What about reading? My wife and I received a book called "God's Sovereignty" in the mail randomly a few weeks ago. We have no idea who it is from but I am excited to open it up and see what blessing come from reading it. Thanks whoever you are who sent it! :) Just thinking about ways I can always be challenging myself to be a better person in all areas of life.


As I sit here and type this blog post about how I have fallen into familiarity and complacency I am oddly thankful. Thankful that I have caught my complacency. Thankful that I am in a position where I can put myself in uncomfortable situation to be able to grow as a human being! Thankful that when I didn't feel like fighting I knew I had others fighting for me! Thankful for a God that loves me!


As I sign off on this post I want to leave you with a quote that is hanging up at my gym, right above the water fountain. I found it for the first time right when I needed it most. Hopefully it finds you right when you need it most as well! "Be stronger than your strongest excuse." MS may end up being my strongest excuse but you better believe I will always be stronger!


Take Heart - John 16:33



49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RAGBRAI Recap

I have been wanting to give a recap on my week at RAGBRAI and figured I might as well dust off the MS blog site and give it another guy. Looking back at my blog posts it has been a few days short of 2

It is Calm. What now?

I pulled up this blog site to start writing another blog and noticed that the last one that I posted was May. I have tried to avoid thinking about how long it has been since I have written a blog but

It's The Journey

I hope this blog post comes to everyone while they are healthy and happily fighting the darn pandemic. It has been crazy to see life as we know it come to a screeching halt. To be honest, it has been

bottom of page